Meet Our Board of Directors

The Center for Volunteer Caregiving is governed by a Board of Directors and an Honorary Board. The Board includes representation from the geographic areas served with corporate and community members representing legal, human resources, financial, information technology and social services.

We are grateful for these dedicated volunteer Board members who steer The Center for Volunteer Caregiving towards a sustainable future with the resources
needed to advance our mission.
  • Lisa Mitchell, Chair (2017-2020)*
    Sr. Director Risk Management
    Syneos Health

  • Heyward D. Armstrong, Treasurer (2018-2021)*
    Smith, Anderson, Blount, Dorsett, Mitchell & Jernigan, L.L.P.

  • Martha J. Sutton, Ph.D., Secretary (2017-2020) Organizational Psychologist

  • Eric J. Bush (2017-2020)
    Director, Sales Force Effectiveness
    Genworth Financial – US Mortgage Insurance

  • Akel Grantham (2019-2022)*
    Project Management
  • Shazia A. Keller (2018-2021)
    Attorney and Rulemaking Coordinator
    NC DHHS, Division of Health Benefits
  • Sharon Nell (2017-2020)*
    Project Manager
    John Deere & Co.

  • Michelle Taylor (2019-2022)
    Director of Communications and Marketing
    Sentinel Risk Advisors

  • Ex-Officio:
    Rebecca Andrews
    Vice President, Finance WakeMed
  • Honorary Board:
    N. King Prather, Retired
  • Honorary Board:
    Doug Richmond, Board Leadership, Historian
  • Marla Dorrel
    Cary Town Council 1999-2007
    Community Advocate
  • David Cottengim
    President Emeritus
    Resources for Seniors
  • Executive Director:
    Elaine Whitford

    *Denotes second term

  • John Meares, Sr. (Posthumously)
    Founding Visionary Leader